Vegan, gluten free pizza

A few months ago, when planning for a homemade pizza night my wife and I were hosting, one of our guests revealed that she was allergic to gluten and lactose intolerant. Intrigued by the challenge of having to accommodate her, I eagerly went about planning a strategy and thinking of a recipe. You’ll find once again, that one of the most useful things I own is my food processor.

I decided to up the ante, and make the pizza entirely vegan as well, not to mention as healthy as possible. What came out of it all of it was a very good dish, not exactly what one would refer to as a pizza, but tasty and fun. It’s also very very cheap to make and can be kept as leftovers for a few days.

Now, this was the 1st and only time I’ve made it, and it was some months ago, so forgive me for giving you very general quantities. This, once again, is a basic recipe that leaves you with lots of wiggle room for spontaneous creativity.

Here’s what the dish looked like: (recipe follows)

vegan, lactose and gluten free "pizza"

Here is the ingredient list:
-Quinoa flour
-shredded fresh beets
-shredded sweet potatoes
-Puy lentils
-one large onion
-rapini
-mushrooms
-sherry vinegar, (or other)
-Olive Oil
-Salt and pepper
-Fresh thyme
-Toasted sesame seeds(unless there’s a nut and seed allergy…)

Here’s how I made this:
1.I thinly sliced the onion into thin slices, heated my olive oil and cooked it slowly until caramelized.
2.Boiled my lentils until “al dente” (not dry on the inside but dense enough for a bit of texture)
3.Grated my beets, sweet potatoes (skin both vegetables and mix to whatever ratio you feel is appropriate. I used a 1:1 ratio)
4.Add the grated vegetables, half of your lentils, some olive oil, seasoning and quinoa flour(or whole cooked quinoa) to the food processor.
5.Process and add more quinoa if the paste is too wet.
6.Heat a pan with a light coat of oil
7.Spread paste on pan, about a centimeter deep, and cook in oven for about 30min, at about 300˚ Fahrenheit.
8.Heat frying pan, add oil and sauté mushrooms, sprinkle with salt and thyme, and when cooked through take off heat. Splash with a small quantity of vinegar.
9.When dough is cooked, take out of oven, steam rapini, spread caramelized onions and mushrooms on pizza, return to oven and broil quickly. Don’t over-steam rapini. Toast sesame seeds and add with rapini to pizza.

Eat and enjoy.

It’s a great source of fiber, protein, folacin, Iron, phosphorus, thiamin, vitmain b6, magnesium, vit. C, calcium, vit. A, beta carotene, …. The more I think about it, and look at the individual ingredient’s nutrient profiles, the more I realize that this pizza is a super food!! ahah, Be healthy!

4 thoughts on “Vegan, gluten free pizza

  1. What a great friend you are to accommodate your guest so wonderfully. Being gluten and lactose intolerant myself one of the very hardest things to give up is pizza. Your creation looks amazing healthy.

    1. thanks. As mentioned, I made this quite a few months ago and would like to experiment with a new set of ingredients in order to make a new version of a healthy pizza

Leave a Reply

