hamburgers, carrot and apple salad, spinach, and a vegetable indian soup

What a strange cold I have. A slight runny nose on Monday, general physical exhaustion, minor muscle pain, slight feverish deliriousness but no heat to go along with it, allergy related symptoms like itchy eyes and sneezing, ahah.. Whatever, this is not very bad at all if it’s going to be my annual winter cold. Odd nonetheless.

I took a long nap yesterday evening, and essentially woke up to make an elaborate dinner for Carolina and I while listening to CBC’s Jian Gomeshi‘s yearly Canada reads competition that was followed by a wonderful interview of author David Grossman by Michael Enright. Haven’t read any of his work but I’ve heard a great deal about him over the last year and am very interested in doing so. I’m currently reading my 1st Milan Kundera novel, The Book of Laughter and Forgetting, which is more of a collection of short stories and portraits than a novel. I am only 42 pages in, so I’ll keep my thoughts for a later date, but will say that I’m enjoying the content more than the writing itself.

Dinner turned about to be delicious. I made burgers. I never make burgers. My choice of organic, hormone free meat was poor, but the lean ground meat I did buy was very flavorful.

I mixed the meat with some freshly grated parmesan, finely chopped yellow onion, added a touch of turmeric, cumin, store bought garam masala, and olive oil.

As an accompaniment I made a salad and some steamed spinach. For my salad I grated some carrots, thinly sliced an apple, toasted some pumpkin seeds, added lemon juice, olive oil and seasoning, and finished it off with some fresh mint. Very refreshing…

spinach and carrot, apple, pumpkin seed salad

I served the burgers with tomatoes, and bought these amazing multigrain thick pitas that, when heated, puff up and are easy to cut open into a convenient pouch where you can put your burger and whatever condiment you’d like to have with it.

Now, before preparing our dinner, I decided to make a Indian curry soup with vegetables that I had in my fridge. I evenly cut 2 yellow onions, grated 3 garlic cloves and a large chunk of ginger, which I proceeded to sweat down in a pan over medium heat. I made myself a quick mix of spices that contained turmeric, cumin, coriander, fennel, cinnamon, cloves, paprika, chili powder, and cayenne. When the onion, garlic, and ginger was cooked down to a mush, I added my dried spices to the oil and let the spices cook for about 30 sec, making sure they didn’t burn. I then followed by adding the vegetables and enough water to cover the vegetables. I let that simmer while making the rest of dinner. After having eaten, I put the soup into a a few smaller tuppers, some of which I put in the freezer and 2 that I saved for tonight’s dinner.

Ok, that’s it for now. I have a video project to make tonight.

See ya

One thought on “hamburgers, carrot and apple salad, spinach, and a vegetable indian soup

Leave a Reply

