Energy bar process-in pictures

I’ve written a few posts about energy bars over the last few months and have talked about how I make them. It’s very easy as I mentioned. Last night, I decided to photograph the second part of making them. Here are some pictures to give you an idea of what it’s supposed to look like. (Not necessarily the bars; as I’ve mentioned there are numerous ingredient mixes and thus numerous “looks” if you will.)

The ingredients of the bars in the following picture:(approximations) 1/2 pear, cup of dates, cup of almonds, 1/2 cup of pumpkin seeds, 1/2 cup of sunflower seeds, 1/2 of popped amaranth, 1/4 cup of carob chips, 2tbls of cacao powder, tbls of jasmine tea seeped in 1/4 cup of hot water, tbls of shredded coconut.

I had never added jasmine tea before. In some bars, I had added yerba mate for an extra energy kick, but the flavor is much subtler. The jasmine isn’t very good in this case. I’m going to try with other ingredients, may add some honey or something similar to balance out the flavor.

Here’s how the mix looked like when I took it out of the food processor:

*I took the pictures under different lights… sorry about the color difference.

the mix

shaped to the height I want it at when I make the individual bars
cut and ready for the fridge...

After I’ve made the individual bars, I like to put them in the fridge on the plate and let them dry out for a few hours. This is not a necessary step, but it helps avoid sticking if you put them in a Tupperware.

Anyways, this might help you visualize the whole process.

You can find descriptions of the other bars I’ve talked about here:

https://healthytastebuds.wordpress.com/2011/01/07/homemade-energy-bars/

https://healthytastebuds.wordpress.com/2011/01/23/quick-and-easy-sweet-energy-balls/

https://healthytastebuds.wordpress.com/2011/01/11/healthy-snacks-energy-bars-uh-no-crackers-yes-thats-right/

2 thoughts on “Energy bar process-in pictures

  1. I always wanted to try making homemade energy bars. And these look absolutely delicious. Thanks for prividing so much information. I am scared to make these but I will definitely give it a try.

    1. The thing to remember is that with your food processor, you can adapt as you mix. If you feel that the mix is too dry add dates, or some cut up fruit, like apple or pear. If you feel like it’s too moist, add ground flax seed powder(great source of omega 3s…), popped amaranth, toasted oats, shredded coconut…

      It’s easy. If you keep large quantities of nuts, seeds and dates(other dried fruit could work as well, but dates are particularly good because of their gooeyness… ahah) where you live, as long you buy yourself a fruit once in a while, you can make them in a matter of minutes. Now, it takes about 15min to get everything done, and I take my time.

      enjoy.

Leave a Reply

