Spring and work.

So it’s obvious that March hasn’t been my most productive month for this blog. My internship and work, combined with the last of the winter and its grey consequences, has made me very passive. I’ve been watching lots of movies, reading quite a bit and taking it easy-this despite still being in school and having a bunch of really interesting project ideas floating around my head that deserve my attention…

Over the next weeks, as I finish school and become invigorated by the weather, I will become productive again, haha. I laugh because I have been very busy and shouldn’t think of these last weeks as passive weeks of stagnancy but that’s kind of what it’s felt like. It’s all a matter of perspective: I want to put together some installation projects I’ve been developing, and I need to become active again with my video camera; so in my mind my personal goals are not being fulfilled, where as in my life a great many things are taking place that will have major impacts on what comes next.

Anyways, I just got back from jogging and feel very good about that. I struggled, obviously, being that I’ve sat on my @$$ for most of winter. I have to get back in a rhythm, make it a habit that gets done automatically. When school finishes I plan on getting my gym membership back; I miss the pool and want to start rock climbing and playing basketball.

Books: I read Kundera’s “The book of laughter and forgetting”, which was good. I enjoyed its structure, which is a mix of autobiographical recollections, anecdotes, short stories that come together and make a whole. There are moments of deft observation: an ability to breakdown human actions and emotions into very concise sentences and paragraphs, but sometimes they are overly generalized and come off as trite and cliched. That’s the danger with making grand statements about things: their superficial truths are often held up by fragile foundations and an arrogant pretension. Then again, when accurate, a simple statement that says a lot is a beautiful thing. Kundera in this particular book walks a fine line between the two. I think that one of my disconnects with the book is that I did not like a single character… Not the best way to charm this reader.

I’m reading Susan Sontag’s “On Photography”, parts of which I’d read before and I think it’s wonderful. Worth reading.

What I’ve watched recently:

Cronenberg’s “Dead Ringers”: wow. I often overlook him when I talk about directors I like, but he has a number of great films on his resume.

Gilliam’s “Time Bandits”: Fun. What can say, they don’t make movies like this anymore, and they never will again: and that’s sad. “Time Bandits” was Terry Gilliam’s first in a trilogy about the theme of aging. It focuses on childhood. It was followed by “Brazil”(middle age) and “The Baron of Munchausen”.(old age) All 3 are creative works of a truly whimsical talent.

Hitchcock’s “Read Window”: I had never seen this one before. I like Hitchcock, but don’t love him. I enjoyed it, thought it was very well written, well directed and smart. But it didn’t really impact me in any way.

There’ve been more. Tonight I’ve got a series of films to choose from. I’m thinking about watching “My Dinner with Andre” by L. Malle. This movie takes place around a restaurant dinner table, and it follows the conversation of 2 patrons. That’s it. Nothing more to it. I watched it many years ago and thought it was one of the most entertaining films I had ever seen. Look into it. Louis Malle is a PHENOMENAL filmmaker. “Au Revoir les Enfants”, “Lucien Lacombe”, “Murmur of the Heart”, are some of my favorite films.

Ok, that’s it for tonight. I’ve got Valens Farm pork chops to make with sauteed beet leaves, and mashed potatoes before I watch a movie.

Here’s a song:

Leave a Reply

