Food detox day 1

Today we’re sticking to pictures. I worked 30 physical hours over the last 2 days and only want to go sit in the sun and read until I have to work at the restaurant tonight. I have here some pictures of what I’ve been eating.

The biggest changes take place in the morning as you’ll see, but don’t have to be extreme. This morning I had a bowl of brown rice, grated carrots, broccoli, pumpkin seeds, hard boiled egg, beets, red cabbage, cumin seeds, olive oil and salt and pepper. On the other hand, on Monday and Tuesday I had almond butter on rices cakes, some honey melon, apples and blueberry, strawberry and ginger smoothies made with almond milk, which in all intensive purposes is not too far from a more traditional North American breakfast.

So far, what I’ve missed the most is coffee: not because of the caffeine-I’ve been drinking yerba mate and green tea- but because I have come to associate having an espresso, an allongé or a cappuccino with reading, and it’s been strangely disconcerting for me not to be able to mix the 2.

On Sunday night I made a heap load of dahl curry and brown rice in order to have some for work. I brought my tupperware and enjoyed it while the others we’re eating their sandwiches, and I’ve been keeping a trail mix with me, as well as fruit and some semi sweet crackers I made by blending grated carrots, sunflower and pumpkin seeds, popped amaranth, some dried dates, lots of ginger, raisins, cayenne and ground flax seed powder, which when mixed with some water helps to bind things together. I also had made a humus on Saturday that we finished with the crackers.

The way I make the crackers is simple, I blend my ingredients into a paste that seems to hold together, and spread it on parchment paper and cook it at 300 for about 20 minutes, or until cooked to my desired consistency.

I’d rather not use too many dried fruits during the diet because they are high in sugar, but I think that using them sparingly for my crackers and energy bars will be ok.

Anyways, that’s it for now. Can’t say that I feel better or not because of the diet at this point; it’s too early to tell and I’ve had 2 crazy and invigorating days that are not part of my regular day-to-day.

One thought on “Food detox day 1

Leave a Reply

