Food detox day 5

Best day so far.

Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful.

The day started off very well with a delicious salad of thinly sliced red cabbage, apples, rhubarb, celery and toasted pumpkin and sunflower seeds. Finished off with lemon juice and a touch of grape seed oil, this is the kind of recipe or dish that keeps a healthy diet going beyond the diet part, aha. Fresh, crunchy, light and full of a host of great vitamins, minerals and antioxidants, this salad will become a staple.(In fact we had it for breakfast this morning as well!)

good for breakfast, good for lunch, good for whenever you feel like it...

Later I enjoyed a smoothie of strawberries, rasberries, ginger, some fresh mind and yerba mate. This was nice and refreshing; I like the addition of the mint and the yerba mate, that we usually enjoy with hot water, is full of antioxidants and provides great energy(It contains caffeine, or a similar alkaloid).

For lunch I used some of the leftovers from previous days and made myself a delicious quinoa salad that consisted of some of the tomato salsa, some of the black bean dip, some fresh parsley oil, and steamed broccoli.

The highlight of the day however was dinner. Upon waking up, I decided to soak kidney and black beans with the intention of making a vegetarian chili. During the day, I bought some sweet potato, and enough fresh tomatoes for the chili base. I also got some lime and avocado for guacamole. Now, I’ve made numerous chilis before, and some turned out good, but they’ve never satisfied what I was looking for. Last night, everything just came together and I was able to enjoy the best chili of my life.

I started off by evenly cutting a very large onion, which I slowly sweetened by browning it. I chopped a few large garlic cloves and put that to the side until my onions had golden edges. I mixed turmeric, paprika, chili powder, cayenne, dried marjoram and a smoked pepper spice from Mexico a friend of ours gave us. I also added whole cumin, coriander, fennel and anise seeds to the browning onions. After adding the garlic and letting it cook for a minute or so, I added my spice mix, let that cook for about a minute, and then added half of a small can of tomato paste which I mixed in and let brown for another minute or two, careful not to burn the ingredients. I then added 3 chopped medium sized tomatoes, the beans, cubed sweet potato, a celery stalk, a quarter green bell pepper, a quarter red pepper, a dried ancho chili, a dried chipotle chili and some finely chopped fresh onion. I simmered it for about 45 min, made some short brown rice in the meantime and made my guacamole, which consisted of a fresh tomato, 2 lime, 3 avocado, a quarter of a finely chopped onion, chili powder, cumin powder and olive oil.

I could eat this way for the rest of my life.

4 thoughts on “Food detox day 5

    1. Thanks, I have a few up on the site that you might like. You can search the blog on the right hand corner if you’d like. I’m adding your blog to my blog roll and will often be dropping by.

Leave a Reply

