Food detox day 8

Moving along.

Day 8 is certainly the easiest day for someone who doesn’t eat that well to follow. There’s a meat dish for dinner, the veggie and delicious chili from day 5 for lunch, and a breakfast of a special pâté chinois dish with a side of grated beets and steamed radish leaves.

What’s a pâté chinois? Find out here.
The pâté chinois idea was inspired by a recipe I fell upon while looking for the health benefits of millet. It was a mushroom and millet pâté chinois that I think sounds rather good. I had never cooked with millet before and was excited to try. I boiled the millet till until it was still slightly firm and mixed it in with the leftover “babaganoush” dip of day 3. I boiled some russet potatoes, made a purée, mixed in some diced carrots and added some of the parsley oil I made. I put the meaty millet mix in the bottom of an oven dish and layered the potato mix over it. I cooked the dish for about 25 min. at 350°F.

I’m going to make other versions of this because the millet is really wonderful this way. It’s nutty, well rounded, and in this case, it maintained a semi-crunchy texture that contrasted the soft texture of the potato purée. Very enjoyable.

***Warning: I’ve made a lot of it and I don’t think it will freeze well, so I’ll be eating a lot of it over the next 2 days…***

As mentioned, for lunch I enjoyed my chili, was rice and guacamole.

On Monday morning I went to the market and bought myself a venison roast from an organic and hormone free producer. I figured that a lean read meat would be a nice change, and it would also be beneficial because of its high iron content. That afternoon, I marinated it in crushed juniper berries, ground pepper and fresh rosemary. I let it marinate for over 24 hours.

For dinner, I seared the meat before finishing it off in the oven at 350°. With it I prepared a salad of grated beets, lettuce and a few toasted walnuts. We also enjoyed it with some of the pâté chinois. Unfortunately, they recommended an inner temperature that was a bit too high for my liking, and the venison was slightly over cooked; closer to medium than rare, which is what I had asked the butcher. I cooked the meat until the inside temperature was at 55° celcius(I have a thermometer that’s very useful for cooking meat), and was then told to wrap it in aluminum foil and let it sit. I think I shouldn’t have done that last step, instead, letting the meat cool down at room temperature… Either way, the flavor was very good, and the meat was not tough at all. The floral and fragrant aromas of the juniper and rosemary permeated the venison and we enjoyed it a great deal. I think that venison’s a good meat to have occasionally: it’s very lean and is high in protein and iron as mentioned.

Venison

Leave a Reply

