Food detox day 14 and a new beginning

So day fourteen was rather uneventful in terms of the food we ate, although, in the end, the event was that we treat ourselves to a dinner of grilled meets from a local middle eastern restaurant. I did not have my camera with me and won’t have any pictures to share, but I’ll quickly go over the menu.

For breakfast, following the recent trend, I had a bowl of oatmeal and fruit, apples and peaches sprinkled with cinnamon and made healthier with the addition of ground flax seeds(which I’ve recently read are best kept refrigerated), pumpkin seeds and walnuts. This is a really satisfying breakfast I’ve found, and I’ve had it on both mornings since the detox finished. For lunch, we finished the stuffed vegetables from day 13, enjoyed a light spinach salad with grated carrots and grated beets, and made ourselves an avocado omelet. I made myself a massive smoothie as an afternoon snack, and we enjoyed the grilled meats for dinner.

The detox went well. I did not feel the same invigorating effects that I had previously when following the wild rose detox but my discipline, my interest in eating healthier foods, and my ability to avoid certain foods have all improved. Unfortunately I never restricted my diet to just fruit and liquids as I had planned: I think that this would have been beneficial. I might do this every so often as a means of cleaning out the system on a more frequent basis.

One thing that is obvious is that I’ve lost some weight. For those of you looking to accomplish that, I recommend this diet, but that was never my goal. I am leaner however, and this will be a good time to increase my muscle mass in the right places, aha. In fact, I’ve decided to do just that. The challenge of course is increasing my calorie intake in a way that will be both healthy and efficient. Of course I want to do this in concordance with a gym plan, and I’d rather not sacrifice my cardio, as I’ve read, in order to build that muscle mass. For those of you who know me, you’ll know that I’m not looking for a big change. However, developing a good structural foundation, and maintaining it, will be beneficial to remaining healthy over the years. Exercising strengthens the bones and provides support for your back and neck.

I’ll be posting about my process, and progress(or not), over the next few weeks.

Hope you learned some things, were inspired to follow a detox, and enjoyed some of the recipes. I’ll be back soon.

In the meantime, I’m going to enjoy a few of these, wax poetic about life, and continue soaking in the sun.

old fashions

OLD FASHIONS

Leave a Reply

